The Minister

Revd Martyn Neads

Our Minister, from September 2009, is Revd Martyn Neads. He is a URC Minister and is minister to both Christ Church and to Woodley Airfield Church.

He was previously based in Plymouth. He is married to Lynn.

We previously had a Methodist Minister who, like we are, was part of the Reading and Silchester Circuit. After 31st August 2014 we are part of the new Basingstoke and Reading Circuit (26/4).

Our Interim Moderator until the new appointment was Revd Gordon Connell, who was at the time unpaid URC Minister, working also in the library at Reading University.

Helping out with the pastoral work was Revd Valerie Fisher who had recently retired from full time Methodist Ministry.

Former Ministers

Former ministers, taken from both the URC and the Methodist church, have included hymn-writer Peter Jarvis, evangelist Bill Mason and several who have moved on to be circuit superintendants, including Audrey Simpson. Bernard Arnold was the Methodist minister at the time of formation of Christ Church in 1982. Our last minister was Revd Dr Mike Hill, who left in 2008, after seven years, to take up an appointment in the High Wycombe Circuit.

Page last updated 31st August 2014.